Shadowed Mornings

8c132f4a173b11576bda167d8135ae1d

Every Morning

  I wake, tired and tangled and tested.

Every morning, I rate my level of pain against my level of strength.  Do I have a diplomat in me today?

Every morning, I selflessly give up time to rest my pain and push aside the shadows to present a better person to my husband and children.

Every morning, I toss out hugs, kisses, smiles, love and well wishes for everyone’s day.

Every morning, I shut and triple lock the door behind my husband.

Every morning, I hurry through the house and hit every light switch, covering me in shadow.

Every morning, I shower in the shadows.

Every morning, I dress in the shadows.

Every morning, I move through my house– in the shadows.

Every morning, I spark flame to the quiet and receive my solitude.

Every morning, I find myself in the muted shadows.

Every morning, I shake hands with my shadows and;

Every morning he takes my pain and;

Every morning he walks away

Leaving me to fight another day

6 thoughts on “Shadowed Mornings

Feedback is welcome and encouraged.

