Hidden Persona

images

They say to love the skin you’re in but what if beneath it’s so much worse?  Sometimes I feel my body is cursed.  I cannot wash it hard enough or make it look slightly tough.  I am who I am despite what people see.  I am who I am ugly or pretty.  You say I am soft; I say I am cold.  You say I look young; I say I feel old. You say I look nice; I tell you look twice. You say I look mean; I say judge not what can be seen.  I hide myself beneath a mask; you can’t see me even if you ask.  My skin’s a fancy luxury It allows me to show what I want to be seen.  When you tell me to love the skin I’m in I’ll do my best; it’s easier than loving all of the rest.

3 thoughts on “Hidden Persona

Feedback is welcome and encouraged.

