Winter Isn’t Coming

Winter-in-Texas

I hate you cold/ felt through my jeans.

I hate you cold/ it’s mutual it seems.

I hate you frost/ I can’t see through you.

I hate you frost/ you’re a chilly residue.

I hate you snow/ so pretty and white.

I hate you snow/ you make nothing right.

I hate you gray skies/ a storm’s brewing up high

I hate you grey skies/ you know how I feel inside

I hate you cold/ we go so far back

I hate you cold/ memories we do not lack

I hate you frost/ I remember how you felt

I hate you frost/ with my finger I’d watch you melt

I hate you snow/ for hours we would play

I hate you snow/ I cried when you wouldn’t stay

I hate you gray skies/ when I look at you now

I hate you gray skies/ no more coldness will you allow


This poem is about my growing up with snow all around me.  We had proper snow falls with winter storms and frosted windows.  I loved it as a kid.  And then I moved to a place with barren winters that hardly last an entire season.  I’ve seen snow once in almost twenty years.  I’m not sad; I don’t miss it in my life but I do dislike the way I miss being a child in winter.

2 thoughts on “Winter Isn’t Coming

Feedback is welcome and encouraged.

