My Carb Addiction

 NaBloPoMo #16

    I don’t know if I’ll be able to post every day this week.  My kids are home until next Monday. The only reason I have this time today is because Skas is grounded for being a dick.  I love my kids but I’m not going to pretend their behavior is them “just being kids.”  No; sometimes a kid is an asshole, plain and simple.

Picture1


 

     The other day I made spaghetti for dinner and it got me thinking about my carb addiction.

    I like to put my face over the steam when I pour pasta into a colander to strain.  The smell of cooked pasta reminds me of a babysitter I had as a kid.  She’s the reason I’m addicted to carbs. She used to make us pasta with oil for lunch.  Sometimes she would put sea salt over it.  It’s one of my favorite mini meals except I now use shredded asiago and romano cheese instead of salt (not a fan of salt).

   All my life people have made comments about my diet and eating habits– and I wonder why I have issues with food and eating.  Being poor and home alone to fend for yourself for long summers while your parents worked meant coming up with anything to put in your stomach so you can have the energy to play with your friends.  And as a kid, you typically don’t care about nutritional value.  There were a lot of pasta and ramen noodle lunches in my childhood.  My favorite part of cooking my own pasta as a kid was cooking it halfway and eating one noodle at a time out of the pot until it finished cooking.  While I cooked ramen noodle I would eat the little curls of raw noodle left in the package; sometimes I would take a bite of that odd waxy square of hard noodle before tossing it into the water.

    Any time my mom cooked with potatoes, she would peel an extra one so I could eat it raw.  My favorite are the gold potatoes.  They’re juicy and don’t have that hint of iron in the taste.  To this day I can’t make mashed potatoes without eating half a raw potato throughout the peeling and cutting process.  My mom couldn’t make homemade rolls without making extras for me to snack on over the next few days.  If she bought a loaf of french bread, she’d buy two because I would eat one before she started to cook dinner.  I used to eat the insides of my bagels first by pulling out the dough and balling it up between my fingers before tossing it into my mouth; I’d eat the “skin” last.

   People always said these habits would make me fat.  It’s always been hard for me to understand this.  I’m very high-energy, even today with my physical limitations. I’ve always been embarrassingly thin and no one I know eats the way I do.  When people stopped eating bread (carbs) I was completely lost.  How do you not eat bread, by choice?  How does one live without potatoes???? How can you not eat pasta??? I’m still confused by this concept.

   Kasper started working out and evaluating his diet after my stroke.  He became overwhelmed and found out he’s prehypertensive which increases risk of stroke and heart conditions/failure.  He learned there’s a difference between carbs: simple and complex.  While I still don’t understand a lot of this, I have learned through him that while I may eat what’s considered a lot of carbs there’s a major factor working in my favor: I eat mostly complex carbs.  I probably should cut back some but at least I changed as much as I could to wheat (whole wheat pasta, wheat bread).  I can’t give up the rest though.  I can’t give up my honey nut toasted oats (can’t afford Cheerios haha) or my weekly meal of one type of pasta (chicken alfredo, spaghetti, lasagna). I’m still underweight; I’m still fighting to gain an “extra” 5-10 pounds so I can be a healthy 5’5″ 125-130 lb, size 7 woman.  Kasper has started to follow my eating habits and has noticed significant changes throughout his body.  His workouts no longer tire him out and the pot belly he grew after my stroke took only two years of minimal workouts to become a four pack beneath his growing chest.  He has the body of a man now that’s he’s stopped shying away from what I call “real” food.

   This post is not my advocating for more and more carbs.  I understand every body and every metabolism is different.  It could be coincidence that every single person I know that fears all carbs have health, weight and energy issues.  There is a wild misunderstanding of carbs; there are good and bad; and even some of the “bad” aren’t so bad since they’re natural as long as you eat in moderation and continue, you know, moving. Being lazy and unattentive to your body’s needs is the biggest threat to your health.  You don’t have to understand carbs (I don’t, really) to know that starving your body of essential nutrients because of a trend or to look a certain way is more hazardous than beneficial to your health.


    Now, I bought teriyaki the other day because I had a coupon and I have no idea how to cook with it! So I’m going to go wing it with an extra chicken breast I had in the freezer.  I have no idea how this will turn out, I just want to see what it tastes like.


Update:

12243559_10204087996513688_8384018886175735214_n

I’m calling it “ghetto chicken teriyaki stir fry.”  I only had carrots and onions for veggies.  My phones camera is awful which makes this look grosser than it really looked but at least it tasted pretty good.

Feedback is welcome and encouraged.

