Feet of A Stranger

Poetry Project #2

Buried in sand

Feet that carry a body

A body so lifeless

Look down and what do you see?

The feet of a stranger

Buried in sand.

~1999 (age 15)

feet-sand


  I wrote this after I moved to Texas.  I decided not to edit but one word because of the overall simplicity of the poem.  It seems hollow; this emptiness reminds me how I felt as I stood on the coast, my feet sinking in the sand with the warm water of the Gulf rhythmically rushing to hug my ankles.  I felt completely removed from myself and at times felt as lost within myself as I did in the physical world around me. I often responded with cold indifference and near complete detachment. This poem expresses that with just a few brief statements.

Feedback is welcome and encouraged.

