Good God, Gordon

A to Z April Challenge

   Good opportunity to vent about this douchebag that keeps deleting me from Facebook.   This guy Gordon is probably a secret sexual predator.  I think we all know a guy like Gordon.  He gives you the creeps and you don’t know why because he looks relatively normal but it’s a feeling that doesn’t escape you when around him.  We used to work together at my last job before my stroke.  I avoided him at all costs.  He never talked to me in any way not acceptable at work but the way he looked at, talked to and even touched (still not inappropriately) my female co-workers made me feel all kinds of wrong on the inside.  But all the girls really liked him, like as a person.  They hung out in his office, some even went fishing with him (some still do), and some acted as though he was someone to look up to.  I never understood it.

   After my stroke we became Facebook friends. He sent the request, I accepted for some reason.  We immediately start talking politics.  I start thinking this guy is not as bad as I thought.  We even talk about how I didn’t like him while working together.  We have a lot in common in terms of our political views.  He’s more moderate but that only adds to the conversation.  It allows me to get a glimpse into the mind of conservatives that I can’t converse with without us both eventually screaming.

    He first deleted me because of my religious beliefs.  I’m Agnostic, no shame in that; I don’t hide it and I make sure people understand it is not the same as Atheism (there’s nothing wrong with Atheism but if you judge me, do it as informatively as possible).  This was totally fine with Gordon at first because my posts didn’t seem to have an effect on him.  He never commented unless it was to say it made sense though he disagreed or it’s an interesting perspective that reminds him not everything about his faith is ideal.  I don’t target anyone with my posts but at some point I think he thought I did (I can’t quite recall) and he deleted me.  I didn’t even notice he deleted me.  I thought he just needed time to cool off or something and was avoiding my posts…like an adult.3318474

    Then I get a random friend request by  him.  He apologized for overreacting and I told him I would try to chill out a little on what he considered rhetoric.  I won’t change my views or closet them for others but I certainly won’t go out of my way to offend.  I took a few extra seconds to consider each post before actually posting.  All was fine until I posted “Good God” with a meme.  I don’t even remember what the meme was but the dude flipped out on me!

Why good God, Kt?  Why is everything about  denouncing God?  

   I  left it because, why feed into that?

I posted a quote from Sinatra about his views on God and he summed up Agnosticism. It’s a beautiful quote. Some say he was Atheist but the fact he believes in any version of God disproves that.

5e8b2946d27fce1d1158a5b8d7afc37c

And it continues:

“I’m not unmindful of man’s seeming need for faith; I’m for anything that gets you through the night, be it prayer, tranquilizers or a bottle of Jack Daniel’s. But to me religion is a deeply personal thing in which man and God go it alone together, without the witch doctor in the middle. The witch doctor tries to convince us that we have to ask God for help, to spell out to him what we need, even to bribe him with prayer or cash on the line. Well, I believe that God knows what each of us wants and needs. It’s not necessary for us to make it to church on Sunday to reach Him. You can find Him anyplace. And if that sounds heretical, my source is pretty good: Matthew, Five to Seven, The Sermon on the Mount.”

  Gordon went on to preach to me about church being for gathering and is not mandatory.  Followed by suggesting I inform myself by reading the bible and going to church.  I told him I’m informed enough to know organized religion isn’t my thing and that faith isn’t necessarily rooted in spiritual belief.  He deleted me.  Again.

   So I blocked him.  Because I don’t have time for his shit.  My online life was peaceful.  Months later I unblocked him.  He sent a friend request that day.  Why so fast? What the Hell?  So I accepted because apparently I’m a glutton for obscenely obtuse individuals.

   I think it lasted about a month, maybe two.  What does this guy think?  He’s the one deleting and friend requesting me.  He’s the one apologizing for over reacting.  He’s the one flipping out because I’m “too stubborn to go to church.”  He’s the one judging me based on posts without knowing where I actually stand.

  I accept his friend requests, I accept his apologies, I even try to change what I post to be less offensive even though my far more religious FB friends have no issues with my posts.  I even went out of my way to explain to him that I am not closed off to religion and even “allow” my kids to attend church with their grandparents when invited.  Would a spiteful Agnostic do that?  I don’t burn the church shirts their grandparents send either.  They wear them…to bed, but still.  I even hung the cheap decorative cross MIL gave us one Christmas in the hall between two bedrooms.  It felt wrong not to.   Does he think he’s going to convert me through repeated Facebook deletes?  Not happening.  He’s permanently blocked.  I seriously have no room to spare for the stress his douchiness is creating.

download

Close Vent

 

Feedback is welcome and encouraged.

