Quoting the Quotable

A to Z April Challenge

7252be8c44d3fa3c9e93275c54cc772b

I love quotes.  I’m not very good at remembering them though.  I have a mini notebook from years ago that I used to keep for notes from books I read.  My bookmarks were slips of paper I used for words I didn’t understand or quotes that I wanted to remember.  I always thought it was a weird little thing I did.  I didn’t have the internet until I was 19 so I had no idea what blogging (live journal or whatever) was. I didn’t know I could have been sharing these notes with my fellow oddies [<—word I just made up] instead of hiding my little notebook in a trunk in my closet.

tumblr_lq9ih4mdkl1qfk6vyo1_r1_500

Why did I wait so long to accept my quirks? It’s not that I wanted to be like everyone else.  I just wanted to feel like everyone else.

df73c5db50d5bdc57b77736d6f5734b3

But knowing that my feelings are different from everyone else the same as theirs are different from everyone else, I chose to stand alone; but I didn’t do so proudly.  I felt ashamed, as if the differences within me made me a different shade of unique.

tumblr_nc9a4tyDcX1qkw14qo1_500

We all have our own quirks, and we are all different shades of unique because we all carry our very unique histories around with us.

tumblr_n07f3rGWwK1svdq0xo1_500

And when one becomes the same as everyone else, it means they’ve forgotten who they are as an individual.

4a1c2365af6fc95be00ef97a64fb0735

So don’t be afraid to be yourself even if you need quotes from others to help confirm your solidarity with yourself because you are rare and being rare is awesome.

Margaret-Mead-unique-quotes

 

2 thoughts on “Quoting the Quotable

Feedback is welcome and encouraged.

