Don’t Let The Memory Fade

Poetry Project #40

A Stem

One petal, two
I count them for you
Three petal, four
They fall to the floor.
Heartless nights
With stars bright
I cry and moan
Because I’m alone.

Five petal, six
Love makes me feel sick
Seven petal, eight
How much longer is the wait?
I’ve had enough
I’m not this tough
And my heart is breaking.

All the petals
Fell in a puddle
And all that’s left is this stem
It’s green yet brown
I throw it down
Because I feel condemned.

My heart is broken
This stem is a token
To mark my time without you.
And with this stem
I must make amends
Because it’s all that remains.

To a page I opened my book
And to that page my stem I took
To hold in place
A lasting grace
Of all that you have given me.

You are but one
of my most sacred memories.

May 7, 2001 (Age:17)

Still life of dying flowers photographed by Jamie Beck at Ann Street Studio
Still life of dying flowers photographed by Jamie Beck at Ann Street Studio

Feedback is welcome and encouraged.

